Catholic Committee on Scouting

random scout image

The Catholic Committee on Scouting provides Scouts interested in taking part in BSA religious programs with workbooks for age-appropriate grade levels.  Scouts completing their religious programs are awarded a certificate and medal for their achievement, following approval by their local priest or Scouting Chaplain.  There are four religious program levels for boys and four program levels for girls offered by the BSA National Catholic Committee on Scouting (NCCS).

Youth Religious Emblems

Light of Christ - designed for 6-7 years old Cub Scouts
Parvuli Dei - designed for 8-10 year old Cub Scouts
Ad Altare Dei - designed for any registered youth in a Troop or Crew of the Catholic Faith.
Light of Life - designed for Boy Scouts, ages 13- 17 years old of the Eastern-rite Catholic Churches.  Scouts in the Eastern Catholic Churches work on Light of Life rather than the Ad Altare Dei emblem.
Pope Pius XII - designed for Venturers and Boy Scouts  ages 15 years old or older.

For youth wishing to complete: Light of Christ, Parvuli Dei, Ad Altare Dei, Light of Life and Pope Pius, please contact the Council Service Center at 337-436-3376 for workbook and more information.

Links associated with the BSA Religious Emblems Program: